//
you're reading...
Slimband

Gone so long or How Boredom Makes Me Barf

Well, it’s been a very long time since the last time I posted an update on my Slimband journey. I’m afraid this one’s not a good one.

I’ve almost reached the 2 year mark since I had my surgery and I honestly couldn’t regret it more. I’d like to think it does work for some people but what it doesn’t do is anything other than cost me money and sometimes make me barf. I shell out a whopping $389 per month to Slimband and all I’ve lost since the day I started solids is 10lbs. That’s right, 15 lbs in 2 years. How’s that for a disappointment?  But I made a choice. It just happens to have been a bad one. It seemed like a good idea at the time.

Some people may be wondering how I went from being a total band evangelist to a cautiously optimistic Slimband story-teller. It’s simple, really. I truly believe (today) that the only reason I lost any weight at all was because I’ve chosen to eat less and I’ve consciously made better food choices. The Slimband nurses would say that’s a good thing. But if I could always make the best food choices I probably wouldn’t need a Slimband in the first place, would I?

I tried though. I tried really hard for a while. Recently, I even went to the trouble of trying to photograph every meal I ate so I could see where I was eating poorly.

But, like I always do, I got bored of the whole thing. I got bored of researching band-friendly recipes, tips on how to get all the nutrients I need and looking forward to next year when I’ll fit into THAT dress again. It’s infuriating, devastating and humiliating. I literally have to consider the impacts of every morsel I put into my mouth. And every time I eat something unhealthy, I’ve made a choice to do so. Sadly, giving a tasty temptation some seriously thought does nothing to stop me from scarfing it down because disappointing myself has never been something I’ve shied away from.

SadI’ve barfed because I didn’t chew properly and I’ve barfed because I ate something I shouldn’t have but  even when I eat a lot of the good stuff like most fruit and vegetables, I barf that up too.  Aside from mixed salad, I can really only eat over-cooked vegetables which can be pretty dismal after a while. On top of that, I’m having some teeth trouble which is make it quite difficult to chew to my food. Thus, further limiting the items on the list of foods that will stop me from getting fatter.

The truth is, it’s never really been entirely about food for me when it comes to losing weight. It’s most certainly the source of consolation, celebration and joy for me but it’s not the only reason I am where I am. I’ve certainly gone through periods of time where I’ve eaten poorly but the fact of the matter is, the key to my weight loss success is physical activity AND diet. My Slimband handles the food consumption but I don’t actually move around a heck of a lot. I’ve always known this. Whenever I decide to be more physically active, I always slim down in a jiffy. Then I get bored of that too and every single sweaty pound I’ve lost goes right back on.

Sadly, I know this post might deter some people from getting a Slimband. I honestly hope it does because a Slimband is not the easy way out that people think it is. Whether it’s working or not, it’s very difficult to live with and you only get out of it what you put into it:

  1. You have to watch what you eat. No matter what. If you think you can’t do it without a Slimband, it’ll be even harder with one because the bad stuff is the easiest to eat.
  2. You have to exercise. If you think you go to food for endorphins now, just wait til you feel the disappointment and frustration that comes when you barf halfway through the nutrient-rich chicken stir-fry you made for dinner.
  3. You have to take multi-vitamins. If you think you don’t get enough nutrients now, wait til you barf up the aforementioned stir-fry (or any other healthy meal with a thicker consistency than the mushies we’re prescribed for 24-48 hrs after a fill) and it happens consistently for days/weeks and you notice your hair is starting to fall out, you’re tired, and your skin is flaking off all around you.

It all happens, it’s all real. I don’t owe a lot of success to my Slimband alone. It’s all down to me and my mental efforts. The Slimband doesn’t solve your weight problems. You have to do it for yourself. And I failed. For nearly two years, I failed.

So, now it’s time for me to create my own fat-loss Kickstart despite the limitations that come with having a Slimband. On Saturday, March 3rd, 2012 I went to Crossfit O-Town for my first WOD.

Watch this space for the rest of the story.

About digitaldivablog

This is the full story of my Slimband journey from the fatness to the fitness and everything in between! I had Lap-band surgery at the Slimband Clinic in Toronto with Dr. Yau in April 2010 and boy has it been an adventure! This is where I tell the tale.

Discussion

One thought on “Gone so long or How Boredom Makes Me Barf

  1. You haven’t failed, it’s just not been the solution for you ((hugs)) I’m still struggling with my weight, fingers crossed we’ll both get their eventually x

    Posted by glenbois1 | March 6, 2012, 18:37

What do you think?

