//
you're reading...
Fabulous Food, Slimband

Bite Me

So, I took a little time to settle in to my new job/apartment/downtown O-Town life. And despite my best efforts to explore the coolness of Canada’s most conservative city, I’m still coming up wanting. Which is fairly frustrating since I’m pretty much wanting most of the time with this band in my belly!bite me embroidery

My biggest challenge at work is finding time to top up my tummy between the endless and sometimes unnecessary meetings I’m forced to focus on before the kick-off of my ‘real responsibilities’. It’s certainly been a struggle holding back the hunger. You see, despite dropping nearly 30lbs and at least a dress size, I still don’t want to be the fat girl stuffing her face in a meeting. But I’m booked up most of my mornings and to keep myself focused fuel is a must!

I’ve done my best to (sometimes not-so-subtly) announce my augmentation but I can’t go ’round telling the entire team of more than 1200 peeps that I’ve resorted to surgery to drop a few dress sizes. As such, I’m starving most of the time to the point that I’ve actually felt faint on more than one occasion.

So, what I’d like to focus on here is my top five favourite snacks for the busy bandster:

  1. Almonds are your friend. Well, as long as you don’t have a death-inducing nut allergy they are. Buy a big bag of plain roasted almonds and those snazzy 100 cal size Ziploc bags and make up a bag for each day of the week. Make sure you don’t fill the bag – almonds are a very healthy but high-cal treat. Use about 8-10 almonds per bag and keep them in your pocket.
  2. Peel and slice small apples and put them in one of the Ziploc bags with a squeeze of lemon and cinnamon. Add some Splenda if you’ve got a sweet tooth.
  3. Keep some Kashi ‘chewy’ granola bars in your bag for munching in the elevator. Give yourself a few minutes to chew these bad boys though cause they’re quite stiff on the ol’ chompers and most certainly a pain to push through the tummy if not chewed properly. My personal fave is the Dark Chocolate Cherry. (Relax! It’s much better for you than it sounds!)
  4. Prepacked cheese sticks are handy too. Armstrong makes a mean herbed one that I think I might love. Team them with some low fat Triscuits or some of those great whole grain and seed bread crisps from the good people at Lesley Stowe’s. Check out their website for some ‘crispy combinations’.
  5. Yogurt is high in protein and terrific for the tummy too. Try to stay away from the low fat and premixed fruit flavours though cause they’re often high in calories and sweeteners. Go for Greek yogurt if you can find it and add your own fresh peeled fruit or field berries.

What about you? What are your helpful hints for home-made snacks?

About digitaldivablog

This is the full story of my Slimband journey from the fatness to the fitness and everything in between! I had Lap-band surgery at the Slimband Clinic in Toronto with Dr. Yau in April 2010 and boy has it been an adventure! This is where I tell the tale.

Discussion

One thought on “Bite Me

  1. You have a wicked style of writing. Good reads! Since you mentioned, here’s an article on late-night snack food that might have some handy suggestions in it. http://hubpages.com/_1ykv8ruut5ptr/hub/Healthy-Late-Night-Snack-Food -Tam

    Posted by (none) | November 4, 2010, 13:43

What do you think?

