//
you're reading...
Fashion, Fun with Friends

In Those Jeans or How Ottawa Plus-Size Shopping Sucks

Got a phone call from Jody at Slimband yesterday to arrange my ‘next appointment’. I’ve had some food and fill related chats but other than that, it’s the first time I’ve heard from them regarding healing and surgical followup since Day 5 post-op. Haven’t had a chance to ring them back yet but suspect it’s going to be a 3-month followup appointment at their offices in TO.

bluesfestNormally I’d be super excited at the thought of returning to Slimband’s clinic and spending some fun time in TO but I’m more than a little busy in the next couple of weeks what with potential job ops (YAY!) and family fun time.

To top it all off, it’s Bluesfest here in the Capital and I’d rather spend my time tearin’ it up there than driving to Canada’s Big Smoke. It is indeed a rare occasion for THAT occurrence!

In other news, if there’s one thing for sure about my journey from the fatness to the fitness, it’s that there’s a lot to think about. Sometimes it feels like the one thing I know for sure is that having a lap-band is going to get me to my goal this time and I will indeed be healthier within 12 months. And other times it feels like that’s the escapist fantasy of convicted food offender.

Sometimes this blog reflects that very sentiment but most times, I try to focus on the positive parts to keep me motivated. When that happens I mostly think about what my life will be like when I get to my goal. I keep hearing about all the wonderful things in store for me and all the endless possibilities for my future. So, I dare to dream more often than not. But it certainly is a challenge to keep my head in the clouds.

This is especially true when I accompany my aunt (henceforth referred to as The Wallet) on her shopping expeditions on an almost daily basis. Not only does the woman have a whopper of a wallet, she also wears a size 10. She’s not a trendster but she’s glamourous and fairly fashionable so I frequently envy her purchasing power. But I wouldn’t buy what she buys even if I could…she’s 58!

Although this is yet another example of how my London life has spoiled me, I dream of one day dropping my dough on my very own perfect pair of designer jeans. I can certainly find them here in a smaller size because Ottawa’s skinny shopping is pretty sweet. But I couldn’t find a fabulous pair of plus size jeans in this town if my life depended on it! Let alone something suitably glunge for me to kick it in da’ club.

boom boom jeansEven plus size retailers here in the Capital can’t believe I would ever disagree that their duds are just that. Some of them actually believe in the stereotype that plus size women want to hide their hides. I’m not a big chick that likes to regularly rock the bodycon (I’d certainly wear the sexiness pictured here though!) but I do like my clothes to cling to my curves and they just don’t do it in Canadian plus-size fashions. Seriously, if I could draw I’d design the best damn denim for babes with a booty this country’s ever seen.

In the meantime, I found a pair of skinny/straight leg jeans while with The Wallet at Winner’s this week. They’re from Boom Boom Jeans! and I just love them! They’re actually tight on my calves and they hug my bum just so. I love them so much I’m thinking I might get another pair! Gotta go back to Winner’s though cause I can’t get ’em anywhere else in Canada right now. Figures!

About digitaldivablog

This is the full story of my Slimband journey from the fatness to the fitness and everything in between! I had Lap-band surgery at the Slimband Clinic in Toronto with Dr. Yau in April 2010 and boy has it been an adventure! This is where I tell the tale.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “In Those Jeans or How Ottawa Plus-Size Shopping Sucks

  1. Here in the states, unless you have mega bucks to buy the high end plus size clothes, the rest of what is available is mostly crap. Either it is stuff that is so hootchie mama that not even hookers would be caught dead in it and is in no way flattering anyway, or the clothing manufacturers think every plus size girl is 6 feet tall and the pant either wind up pulled up to your boobs or you have your crotch down at your knees. I have to say it’s nice to shop in “real” stores now and have a tiny bit more of a choice about how I look!

    Posted by Stephanie | July 8, 2010, 12:04
  2. I find the plus size clothes in the states are quite nice and there are quite a lot more options. There are places like Torrid and Baby Phat that are really quite reasonable on the trendier side. I find it hard to find work stuff. I mean, even WalMart has some pretty great stuff if you look hard enough. Personally, I tend to shop at Winners (like TJ Maxx) in Canada and I try Macys and Nordstroms during the sales in the States. Usually I find something nice. But it really is silly how very little there is available to us.

    Posted by Vickie Mac | July 11, 2010, 16:32
  3. Hi, First of all, congrats on your progress!!! I came across your blog and I love love love your posts “from the fatness to the fitness” LOL. We, (my banded friend and I) are about to launch a website for banded girls and I would love to hear about your experience. I promise it will be short and sweet; plus a little cross promotion won’t hurt either:) Let me know if you’re interested in helping us out (pretty please) lifeafterlapband@gmail.com Regards, Maria

    Posted by maria | November 1, 2010, 22:32

What do you think?

