//
you're reading...
Fabulous Food, Slimband

So Much to Say

Well, the internet has been down in my humble abode since just after my fill so I’ve got a bit of updating to do. I’ve been trying to shorten the length of my posts lately so I’ll try and keep it brief.

Dr BishopWhen I arrived at Dr Bishop‘s clinic, I was greeted by their super friendly staff. I provided my driver’s licence and health card info. Since it was my first visit to the clinic, I then met with a very nice nurse called Wendy who took my patient history information. I was a little surprised that Slimband hadn’t provided this information to them in advance of my visit as the information Wendy requested was basically the information contained in Slimband’s pre-op questionnaire. But, no biggie. I then returned to the waiting room and waited to see the doc.

Dr Bishop really has exceptional beside manner. He comes across as a very nice man, well-informed and thoughtful. He spent about 30 mins chatting with me about my history and getting a feel for my level of knowledge on my Slimband journey. He had recently returned from a conference at Harvard so had plenty to share with me on suggested methods to assist me with my weight loss while respecting that I would have some of this knowledge myself already for which I was very grateful.

My fill itself went very well. Quick and painless. On Slimband’s instruction, he injected 3ccs into my band but informed me that he would have recommended 4 ccs ‘since it’s the recommended first fill level in Australia’ at the moment…He gave me some water to drink to ensure I hadn’t had an ‘overfill’ and sent me on my way. The whole appointment lasted about an hour and I felt very relaxed throughout.

Shepherd's PieSince the fill, I don’t really feel all that restricted. Shamefully, I didn’t stick to the clear/full liquids mix for the first 48 hrs as instructed. I drank mostly water throughout the day but by around 8pm that night I ate about 3/4 cup of Mom’s homemade Shepherd’s Pie.

Since Tuesday was the DMB concert and I was travelling to Toronto, I went back to Clean Eating but took things very slowly. I had more to drink than I did to eat so I guess that was good. I’ve been told it takes about 2 weeks to feel the full effects of restriction so I guess I’ll just have to wait and see. I’m thinking I’ll be fillin’ ‘er up again in a month though!

About digitaldivablog

This is the full story of my Slimband journey from the fatness to the fitness and everything in between! I had Lap-band surgery at the Slimband Clinic in Toronto with Dr. Yau in April 2010 and boy has it been an adventure! This is where I tell the tale.

Discussion

One thought on “So Much to Say

  1. Sounds like it went well. I really didn’t feel any restriction until my 3rd fill, I have a fourth scheduled for next week as I’m getting really hungry in between meals.

    Posted by Bianca J | June 4, 2010, 03:26

What do you think?

