//
you're reading...
Fabulous Food, Slimband

Risky Business

The past couple of days have been pretty risky food-wise. I had my “Nutrition Kickstart” with Slimband‘s Dietician Arlene on Thursday (more on that in another post) and she gave me a lot of a great advice. But she also kinda showed me the way to temptation. 

Bowl of Stupid

Apparently, I should be almost completely healed now and my stomach should be returning to normal. Since I’m not restricted it should almost feel as if I don’t even have a band.

Now, I wouldn’t say that’s entirely true for me but it’s pretty close. Its super tight in the mornings and sometimes late at night but other than that I most certainly feel like I can almost eat anything I used to eat pre-surgery. I mean, how else could one explain eating steak two nights in a row this week without any trouble?? I did chew, chew, chew but still…

So, armed with the new found knowledge that I COULD try eating some other things, I DID try eating some other things. Like pancakes. Wow, big mistake…

Although I didn’t get sick, I most certainly knew there was food in my pouch for a lot longer than anything else normally is. I felt pressure on my throat for most of the morning.

Then since we were having a family dinner I thought I’d try a small bowl of Gam’s homemade corn chowder. I’d previously read that I shouldn’t really eat corn in the first couple of months because it’s gassy and difficult to digest even for a normal stomach. Well, I went ahead and did it and boy was that stupid! Granted I had A LOT less than I ever would but it just sort of sat there in my stomach. Not a pleasant feeling.

I normally would push my limits a bit but it’s resulted in some weight gain this week. Shocker. Since today is one month since I had my surgery, it’s weigh-in day. I’m down 14.2 lbs since the pre-op diet. That’s a 3.8 lb gain since I started real food on the 6th May. It’s annoying but it’s to be expected. I should be gaining even if I wasn’t trying pancakes and chowder since I haven’t had a fill yet and definitely haven’t reached my ‘sweet spot’.

Arlene gave me some great ideas for how to watch my portion control in preparation for my first fill. So, I shall be following those to the letter until my ‘Fill Seminar’ with Nancy.

About digitaldivablog

This is the full story of my Slimband journey from the fatness to the fitness and everything in between! I had Lap-band surgery at the Slimband Clinic in Toronto with Dr. Yau in April 2010 and boy has it been an adventure! This is where I tell the tale.

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think?

