//
you're reading...
Fabulous Food, Slimband

Let Me Clear My Throat

Hmph. Woke up feeling pretty tight this morning. Was difficult to get even water down at first. Not so difficult that I couldn’t swallow it and keep it down but it felt quite similar to the way I felt around Day 4 or 5.

hmph

Since I’d had some real food last night (tried BBQ’d pork tenderloin souvlaki chewed literally hundreds of times and a tiny salad), I figured it’s just all part of the process. I must admit though, that moving on to real food, although super exciting, also makes me live in fear of band slippage due to eating too much or too solid too soon. I’m feeling a lot better now but it’s still a bit more difficult to swallow today than it was two days ago.

I’ve also got that irritating port-site pain again. It’s not as strong as it has been in the past. It’s more like a niggling now but still annoying nonetheless. I guess it’s going to take some getting used to having it near my bra line.

I didn’t have near as much water or eat as often as I should have today either…It’s late in the evening and I’m only now starting to really hydrate again. On top of all that, my (ahem!) monthly visitor came nearly a week late (at 41 days and has definitely overstayed its welcome by nearly an extra week. Apparently, irregularities such as this are directly linked to hormonal imbalances caused by rapid weight loss, poor nutrition and trauma such as surgery.

In other news, I’ve decided to follow the Clean Eating meal plan in their May/June 2010 issue. I went for a shop and found pretty much everything on the list at Costco and Superstore. The only things I couldn’t find were Silken Tofu (Sobey’s carries it though) and dried figs. The whole list for Week 1 cost somewhere in the region of $225 so it really wasn’t cheap. But I’m hoping it will all pay off.

About digitaldivablog

This is the full story of my Slimband journey from the fatness to the fitness and everything in between! I had Lap-band surgery at the Slimband Clinic in Toronto with Dr. Yau in April 2010 and boy has it been an adventure! This is where I tell the tale.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Let Me Clear My Throat

  1. I’m three years out, and I still have a near constant fear of slippage. Every time I get a fill, I’m still nervous about solid food too! It does get easier though, as time goes by you figure out what you can tolerate and what you can’t.

    Posted by Maria | May 9, 2010, 01:14
  2. It seems like I can tolerate most things but it’s just been strange how I started real food then woke up feeling ‘tight’ afterwards. Glad to hear I’m not the only one that worries about it though. I honestly would rather not slime or barf EVER if I had the choice. So, I try to chew as many times as possible and eat no more than a cup of food. Let’s hope it pays off! I haven’t had a fill yet so I’m trying to get into good habits too! :o)

    Posted by Vickie Mac | May 9, 2010, 04:31

What do you think?

