//
you're reading...
Fabulous Food, Lovely Things, Slimband

Getting Better

Well, today was a much better day than yesterday. I woke up with a little more pep in my step and am feeling pretty fine. Slept through the night with the help of my good friend demerol and only had a tiny bit of gas pain. Even managed to roll over to my side for a short 10 minutes rest.

Traffic Jam

Had a nice chat with Aftercare Coordinator Michelle from Slimband today. I’ve been having some post-op issues that I just wanted to ask her about. The first is my exceedingly dark pee first thing in the morning. It’s fine throughout the day but seriously this stuff is florescent orange. In this past this would only happen when I’m super dehydrated but apparently this is normal.

I’ve also got some serious itching/stinging going on in my top incision. This little effer is the source of some great discomfort over the other three. Apparently since this is also normal I can look forward to this sensation sticking around for the next week or so. I seriously don’t know how I’m ever going to get a bra on.

Finally, and this is a bit of an overshare, but I’ve got a bit of a traffic jam going on in my rear garage. I seriously haven’t been to the bathroom properly in nearly 10 days. Since I’m an IBS sufferer I have experienced similar congestion but I was concerned so I asked the dear Michelle and this is also normal. Traffic should be speeding through in the next couple of days. Lucky me.

So, after my tantrum yesterday I decided to do some exploring for foods I’ll be able to get down once I’m through with the liquid/full liquid diet. I spent most of today on a an utterly fabulous website called TasteBook.com.

It’s a website that uses a search aggregator to search across popular recipe sites using one search box. You can also upload your own recipes to the site. The coolest part is that you can bookmark all of your favourite recipes then have them printed in your own personal cookbook! I just love it for gifts or for taking all of the recipes I’ve collected over the years and finally getting them bound into one beautifully printed book with MY name on it.

Since I can’t eat anything right now, I can spend some time putting together a collection of recipes for foods I CAN eat. Then I’ll always have them on hand. I guess food can still be fun after all.

About digitaldivablog

This is the full story of my Slimband journey from the fatness to the fitness and everything in between! I had Lap-band surgery at the Slimband Clinic in Toronto with Dr. Yau in April 2010 and boy has it been an adventure! This is where I tell the tale.

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think?

