//
you're reading...
Slimband

Real Slim Shady or Why Slimband Should Change Their Customer Service

I’ve been using LapBandTalk.com as a resource for gathering information on LAP-BAND® surgery. A member of the forum asked for information on Slimband in Toronto. Since this is the clinic I’ve been dealing with, I wanted to add my post to this blog.

This is my reply to wanpangtang’s query:

****Begins****

I’m in the process of booking my surgery with Slimband right now.My surgery is scheduled for April 16th and I’m really looking forward to it. So far my experience has been a bit of a roller coaster. It went like this:

1. First point of contact was with someone called Tara (I think). I’m not entirely sure what her name was but I’ll tell you now she was super pushy and VERY rude to me. I was debating between having my surgery in the UK (where I’d been living for the last 7 years) and having it done in Canada. She was so rude to me about choosing some ‘foreign’ doctor to do my surgery and tried to scare me into believing that NO canadian doctor would take care of me after I’d had surgery abroad. I explained to her that I already had a doctor lined up as a family member had their LAP-BAND® done abroad in January. She still didn’t believe me. She told me she’d never heard of any doctor willing to clean up some other doctor’s mess. VERY rude, very pushy and a complete liar. I was not impressed. BUT I wanted to know the cost and she wouldn’t tell me so I asked to speak to a ‘consultant’.

2. I spoke with a consultant called Niki. She’s actually the woman from the TV ads and on the website. She was completely different to my first point of contact. She was pleasant and listened to all of my questions and answered them to my satisfaction. She explained that even though I’m based in Ottawa, they have ‘outreach programs’ and a doctor in Ottawa that does fills/defills for Slimband. Well, it seems it’s the same doctor I was going to go to when I was thinking of getting my surgery in the UK. Anyway, Niki gave me plenty of information and helped me through the application process. That being said, when there was a delay with a fax I should have sent the sales person pressure came out of Niki as well. She pulled out classic sales tactics 101 and tried threats, fear, implying she did me a favour, and strict deadlines. I ended up sending her the information she was after and literally haven’t heard from her since.

3. Now, the thing that’s weird for me is that throughout Niki’s sales pitch I was told that Dr Patrick Yau had completed over 3500 surgeries and that the rest of the staff had completed nearly another 1500. I made it clear from the start that if I was going to go with Slimband I wanted Dr Yau. I’ve tried on multiple occasions to get confirmation that Dr Yau will be performing my surgery and even suggested that if he’s not available I’m prepared to wait and all communication has gone cold. No response.

4. I received the ‘services agreement’ and in the agreement it says that any member of their surgical staff that they deem suitable may perform my surgery. I wasn’t told THAT during the whole sales pitch!

5. The services agreement also outlines an ‘explanatory binder’ and a ‘surgery DVD’ that I should receive but I haven’t yet and when I’ve asked about it twice none of the contacts have provided an explanation.

6. I tried to join Myslimband.com and post questions and comments but for some reason I can’t post anywhere. I sent a message to Amy the administrator a couple of days ago and haven’t heard anything back. It seems pretty silly to me to have a ‘forum’ when only SOME people are allowed to be involved in the discussion.

So, here I am living in Ottawa awaiting a surgery from a COMPANY I’m not entirely sure I want to work with. All of their staff have told me to email them with questions or concerns and their website promotes their ‘support’ for their clients but since I’ve signed the $16,000 away, I haven’t really had ANY real answers to my questions.

I’m trying to be balanced here so I will say that I’ve had my blood work done and it has Dr Yau’s name on it but I wonder if any other Slimband patients have had his name on their forms and had their surgery done by another doctor. I’ve also got the pre-op diet information sheet which is easy to understand and follow. I’ve started today but I’ve got some questions and since non of the Slimband staff are replying to my emails and I don’t have any permissions in the Slimband forum I came here.

Not only am I nervous about this life-changing surgery and the $16,000 debt I’ve just agreed to I’m totally confused because I’ve got plenty more questions AND I don’t even know who my surgeon is going to be.

I’ve found some answers here so this forum has been a pretty big help. Keep looking around and you’ll find more answers yourself.

I don’t mean for this to discourage you or anyone else considering Slimband because when the contact silence finally ends I’m sure I’ll end up happier but I guess I just feel a bit trapped now when I should be feeling anticipation and some relief for the life change ahead of me.

***ENDS***

About digitaldivablog

This is the full story of my Slimband journey from the fatness to the fitness and everything in between! I had Lap-band surgery at the Slimband Clinic in Toronto with Dr. Yau in April 2010 and boy has it been an adventure! This is where I tell the tale.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “Real Slim Shady or Why Slimband Should Change Their Customer Service

  1. I had the slimband procedure done in Aug/2010 i have had nothing but problems and no help from anyone i have since had the band removed on april 12-2011 i was not able to eat without food getting stuck or vomiting it got so intence that i would get nose bleeds while vomiting up the stuck food the people at slimband including Dr Pavi Kundhal who performed the surgery were not helpful in the least it is almost impossible to get any answeres or help to anyone considering this please re consider. i had nothing but problems, pain and discomfort and no one cared i was denied a refund even though the reason i took the band out was to simply relieve the pain and suffering so i am not taking legal acoin against the slimband clinic and i hope anyone who has had similar experiences will speak up its not right that this clinic makes 16 thousand dollars off everyone person just trying to have a better life for themslfs and they keep the money when they are not able to fix the problem.

    Posted by Leah | April 18, 2011, 19:43
  2. Hello I had my surgery done on Jan 27/12 for health reasons(Diabetic) and i have had nothing but problems, I recently had to have it removed because I was having so many complications with this port and slippage, I had to have it redone again and another Doctor put my port on an angle that made it stick out of my skin causing excruiating pain when touched by anything, they said it was ” Scar Tissue” I don’t think so. which was cause my hips and left to be in pain and hitting a nerve, I couldnt take the pain anymore, I had it removed in Feb (3 surgeries later), I was told that if I didn’t want to continue paying that they will REFUSE to remove my band.

    Signed: Depressed

    Posted by Deela | August 23, 2013, 15:13
  3. I had my slimband put in January 4 2013 and to date, more than a year later, I have only lost 8 pounds. And not from eating less. From working my ass off at the gym and really watching what I am eating. At first, the Slimband consultants were fine with filling my band to adjust it, but then halfway through the year, they “changed” their nurse in the Richmond Hill, ON location and the new nurse refuses to do so! Even though i was told that filling and de-filling would be free for the rest of my life, they are giving me a hard time. I watch what I eat and even after 6 to 7 adjustments, I still feel like I could eat a whole fast food combo (even though I don’t). I don’t understand why I’m not losing weight. I have recently contacted slimband again, and they have told me that I have to take pictures of every meal I eat and email it to them. I really don’t have the time to do that!!!! who does??? i paid $13,000 for this procedure and i was “guaranteed” to lose the weight, and Im so depressed that nothing has changed…:(

    Posted by Rubina Malik | February 21, 2014, 17:36
    • Hi Rubina, I’m sorry to hear things haven been going well for you. I’m in the exact same boat with my progress. I’ve lost 50lbs but only 20lbs of that can be attributed to my Slimband since I lost that in the first three weeks and nothing since. I started biking everywhere and the Couch to 5K walk/run program and the weight finally started coming off – 3 years after I got my Slimband.

      On top of that, I’ve also got a dilated esophagus as a result of over filling and Slimband’s lack of follow up when I called to complain about severe pain. It took them 4 days to get back to me. I couldn’t even drink water first thing in he morning at this point let alone over eat! They requested the photo food diary from me as well. I did it and they can clearly see I haven’t been over eating.

      They market this procedure like it’s going to change everything for you and like tis going to make everything all better. The truth is, we have to do all the work we’d have to do without one, and Slimband is just a tool. That said, their support system is bonkers. The only time I hear from them is when I call, there’s very little in the way of support available. My Slimband cost $16K but ended up at $20K after I paid it off 4 years later. It was a complete waste of money and I would never go through that again.

      I hope things are getting better for you! I would suggest increasing your workout intensity. It’s what worked for me. 🙂

      Posted by digitaldivablog | September 25, 2014, 08:23
  4. Hi
    I had my surgery done december 2011 … lost 8 pounds since. I do not recommend this to anyone. It is pure bullshit. Port site hurts until now

    Posted by Christine | February 23, 2014, 22:22
  5. Is anyone suing Slimband or have any information about class action suits against Slimband? Need info asap.

    Posted by Ashley | September 24, 2014, 17:18
    • I emailed you. Hope you got it and it’s not too late.

      Posted by Lynda Wood | October 27, 2014, 00:15
    • is anyone suing TLBC or slimband???? Ive had nothing but trouble and its even been replaced because it was apparently “broken”. Ive had no communication since, and now they wont honour the agreement since Dr. Yau left the clinic… anyone out there in a class action or individual law suit??

      Posted by paula jones | December 12, 2014, 13:20
    • Hi everyone, I know I am a few months too late to add my two sense…but here it goes anyways. I have had a very similar experience with Slimband. Is anyone interested in joining a class action suit? If so, please email me at itstimetotakeaction2015@gmail.com There seem to be countless stories of pain, suffering, misleading medical guarantees, emotional distress, financial loss, and overall disappointment. These people should be stopped. every day I think about the desperation most people (myself included) feel/felt when being suckered into a glistening deal with the devil. I work in medicine which makes it all the more upsetting…especially when new patients are coming in full of excitement that they will be getting the Slimband. Sure enough, these empty promises have also left much to be desired, along with that familiar sense of disappointment, and sometimes, some additional medical complications to boot. Please contact me if anybody would like to discuss, or join me in taking action.

      Posted by sara | May 10, 2015, 06:36
  6. Banded August 2011 removed due to slip 2014. Lost nothing except money. If your considering this surgery do your research. Huge community on social media lots of testimonials, pictures and people to talk to.

    Posted by Margaret | January 11, 2016, 01:04

What do you think?

